A Message From the Executive Director

I welcome all members, friends and visitors to our MSBOA website!

The Michigan School Band and Orchestra Association has been serving the instrumental music teachers and students of our State for over 81 years. We proudly represent over 1,500 public, parochial and private schools and over 1,600 instrumental music teachers in Michigan.

MSBOA continues to follow the mission of our founders as we provide quality festival experience for the students of our member schools and effective workshops, clinics and services for our member directors. The Association is controlled at the State level by a dedicated Executive Board and the Presidents of our 16 geographical Districts. Every meeting and decision that they render is accompanied by a discussion centering on doing what is best for the membership and the future of music education.

It is an honor and pleasure to work with this talented, concerned body of volunteers. Please visit the many areas of our site to gain information about what we do and what we have to offer our members. I urge anyone to contact our State Office with any questions or concerns about the Association, our events or services.

Cordially,

Executive Director

Directory

State Cabinet

 

JoAnn Gross President joagross@gmail.com
Matt Shephard Vice President Band and Orchestra matthew.shephard@merps.org
Greg Normandin Vice President Solo and Ensemble gnormandin@catholiccentral.net
Tom Golden Vice President Jazz Activities tgolden18@hotmail.com
Russell Hilton Vice President Adjudication hiltoru@lc-ps.org
Maureen Ross Vice President Music Selection mross@gpsbulldogs.org
Burke Lokey Vice President Orchestral Activities blokey@sjschools.org
Bryan Mangiavellano Secretary/Treasurer bryan.mangiavellano@nwschools.org
Joel Shaner 1st Past President jshaner@jpsmail.org
Garret Ernst 2nd Past President ernstg66@gmail.com

State Office

Paul Lichau Executive Director plichau@msboa.org
Charles Bullard Assistant Director cbullard@msboa.org
MaryAnn Sullivan Administrative Assistant msullivan@msboa.org

District Presidents

Jessica Gardner District 1 President jessica.gardner@pineriver.org
Brandon Ivie District 2 President bivie@boyne.k12.mi.us
Scott Pries District 3 President spries@icschools.us
beardm01@gmail.com
Merlyn Beard District 4 President
Jeanine Ignash District 5 President jeanine.ignash@ovidelsie.org
Jennifer Hollandsworth District 6 President jhollandsworth@watervlietps.org
Scott Struyk District 7 President sstruyk@capsk12.org
Jared Throneberry District 8 President jpthrone@msn.com
Catherine Kintner District 9 President ckintner@beavertonruralschools.com
Ann Reinhard District 10 President annreinhard@grcatholiccentral.org
Dennis Kozian District 11 President dkozian@portageps.org
David Leach District 12 President leachd@aaps.k12.mi.us
Jessica Kietzman District 13 President kietzman@eup.k12.mi.us
Aaron Poniatowski District 14 President aponiatowski@laschools.us
Ronald Malabed District 15 President ronaldmalabed@gmail.com
Christopher Traskal District 16 President christopher.traskal@uticak12.org