A Message From the Executive Director

Welcome to the MSBOA Website!

 

The Michigan School Band and Orchestra Association has been serving the schools of Michigan since 1934.


For 84 years MSBOA has provided numerous student oriented activities such as festivals, workshops and teacher in-service functions at both the district and state levels.


The Michigan School Band and Orchestra Association is a non-profit 501 (c) (3) organization dedicated to improving instrumental music in the State of Michigan.


MSBOA is organized in regional-district associations in both peninsulas, serving over 1,500 public, parochial and private schools. MSBOA consists of more than 1,600 instrumental music teachers certified by the State of Michigan to teach music education in our schools.


MSBOA is controlled at the State level by an Executive Board and the Presidents of our 16 geographical Districts. Three times a school year, this body meets to determine and discuss various topics that lead the Association, in such a way, as to ensure the continuing growth of MSBOA and instrumental music. 


As Executive Director it is my pleasure and honor to serve the membership of MSBOA.  


Please visit the many areas of our website and become informed as to the activities of MSBOA.


Musically yours,



Charles T. Bullard

Executive Director

Directory

State Cabinet

Kevin Culling President culling.kevin@gmail.com
Bryan Mangiavellano Vice President Band and Orchestra bryan.mangiavellano@nwschools.org
Heidi Schlosser Vice President Solo and Ensemble schlosserh@bcschools.net
Chris Traskal Vice President Jazz Activities christopher.traskal@uticak12.org
Greg Normandin Vice President Orchestral Activities gnormandin@catholiccenteral.net
Tom Golden Vice President Adjudication tgolden18@hotmail.com
Matt Shephard Vice President Music Selecton matthew.shephard@merps.org
Greg VanStrien Secretary/Treasurer gvanstrien@capsk12.org
Jo Ann Gross 1st Past President joagross@gmail.com
Joel Shaner 2nd Past President Joel.shaner@jpsk12.org

State Office

Charles Bullard Executive Director cbullard@msboa.org
MaryAnn Sullivan Administrative Assistant msullivan@msboa.org
Loretta Thelen Office Staff lthelen@msboa.org

District Presidents

Jessica Gardner District 1 President jessica.gardner@pineriver.org
Paul DeSimone District 2 President pld2397@hotmail.com
Christine Dodge District 3 President cdodge@brandon.k12.mi.us
alfposner@gmail.com
Alan Posner District 4 President
Jeanine Ignash District 5 President jeanine.ignash@ovidelsie.org
Jennifer Hollandsworth District 6 President jhollandsworth@watervlietps.org
Matthew Reed District 7 President mareed@central-montcalm.org
Melissa Marks District 8 President marks.m@onstedschools.us
Jason Lowe District 9 President jdlowe1972@sbcglobal.net
Mark Kotchenruther District 10 President mkotchenruther@fhps.net
Bryan Van Toll District 11 President bvantoll@trschools.org
Elizabeth Hering District 12 President ehering@livoniapublicschools.org
Jessica Kietzman District 13 President kietzman@eup.k12.mi.us
Emily Morgan-Booth District 14 President ebooth@mapsnet.org
Sean Patton District 15 President sean.patton@detroitk12.org
Gregory Holt District 16 President gholt@mywwps.org